## Inside AOCS.







Zilch



Smouse



Beare-Rogers

## E.G. Perkins heads AOCS

Dr. E.G. Perkins, professor of food chemistry and environmental toxicology at the University of Illinois, became president of the American Oil Chemists' Society during the 72nd Annuai Meeting held during May in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Dr. Perkins succeeded Frank Naughton, director of marketing, urethanes and specialty chemicals for N.L. Industries' Industrial Chemicals Division in Hightstown, New Jersey.

Other officers elected to one-year terms who took office in May are: Dr. Karl Zilch, vice-president; Dr. J.L. Beare-Rogers, secretary; Dr. T.H. Smouse, treasurer; and Dr. Lincoln Metcalfe, Dr. David Min and Arnold Gavin, members-at-large for the Governing Board.

A total of 3,132 ballots were mailed to eligible voters earlier this year and 1,275 ballots were returned in time to be counted on April 14, 1981. There were 10 spoiled ballots.

Members-at-large for the Governing Board were chosen under a new procedure this year. Previously, six candidates were nominated and the three receiving the most votes were elected. This year, there were three groups of nominees, with three candidates in each group.

Dr. Zilch is technical director, fatty and dibasic acids group, for Emery Industries in Cincinnati, Ohio. Dr. Beare-Rogers is chief of Nutrition Research, Bureau of Nutritional Sciences, Health Protection Branch, Department of Health and Welfare Canada in Ottawa. She served the past two years as a member-at-large on the Governing Board. Dr. Smouse is manager of lipid sciences, protein, dairy and polymer research and development division of Ralston Purina. He will be serving his third consecutive term as treasurer. Dr. Metcalfe is assistant director of research at Armak Company Research Laboratory in McCook, Illinois; Mr. Gavin is chairman of the board and executive vice-



Metcalfe



Min



Gavin

president for EMI Corporation in Des Plaines, Illinois; Dr. Min is assistant professor, Department of Food Science, Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio.

## 1982 Honored Student Awards

Nominations are now being solicited for the 1982 AOCS Honored Student Awards. Graduate students at any North American institution of higher learning, in any area of science dealing with fats and lipids, who are doing research toward an advanced degree, and who are interested in the areas of science and technology fostered by this Society, are eligible. To receive the award, he/she must remain a registered graduate student and must not have received his/her degree or begun career employment prior to the AOCS meeting he/she is to attend. Selection of awardees is based on educational qualifications and performance.

The awards provide funds equal to travel costs, plus an additional stipend to permit attendance at the national meeting of the AOCS to be held in Toronto, May 2-6, 1982.

Nomination forms may be obtained from AOCS Headquarters, 508 S. Sixth St., Champaign, IL 61820.

Deadline: November 15, 1981

## Abstracts to be published in July JAOCS

The abstracts for the 72nd Annual Meeting of the AOCS will be printed in the July 1981 issue of JAOCS.